A Photography Blog for The Future

Dangerous Midnight

Kaboom in the night.  We recently had a storm come through the Oklahoma City area. I love to shoot the lightning that often graces Oklahoma with its presence. This time however was different. The lightning that filled the sky with its brightness was creating the most intriguing patterns.  I opened the shutter on my Nikon D80 and fired away. I shot 8 second exposures with an 18mm f/3.5 lens. The majority of the shots taken showed nothing of interest. As usual the lightning did grace its presence on the camera sensor but nothing really to interesting inspired my interest. I watched as the bright sparks flew and decided to point the lens in a different direction.  I opened the shutter and to my amazement, a very bright bolt struck a tower across the lake in the direction I happened to point my camera. The resulting image I titled “Dangerous Midnight”.  Please enjoy this wonder display of nature and its wonderful danger.

Dangeroussm2

Daniel Sach

One response

  1. Now you playing my game!!! I love chasing lightning. But don’t give all our secrets away on how to get the shots! Great Job Daniel

    October 19, 2010 at 7:08 am

Leave a Reply

